south America has 12 sovereign states; just Bolivia and also Paraguay room are landlocked. the the 12 countries of south America, two room landlocked: Bolivia and Paraguay. Interestingly, both nations have a navy regardless of not having actually a sea border. Bolivia walk not begin out landlocked, yet rather shed land once in war through Chile.

You are watching: What are the two landlocked countries in south america

Landlocked nations Of south America

A landlocked country is a nation that is entirely bordered through land and has no access to maritime water bodies. Southern America has 12 sovereign states and also of the 12, only two room landlocked: Bolivia and also Paraguay. Bolivia and Paraguay space the only landlocked countries outside the Afro-Eurasian plate, i beg your pardon is consisted of of Asia, Africa, and also Europe.

Bolivia, 1,083,300 Km2

Map the Bolivia.
Bolivia is positioned in the western-central part of southern America. The funding city that Bolivia is Sucre. However, the chair of the government is located in La Paz. Bolivia, at 1,083,300 km2, is the biggest landlocked nation in south America. The country is bordered through Brazil to the north and to the east, Paraguay come the southeast, Argentina to the south, Peru to the northwest, and Chile come the southwest.

Initially, Bolivia was no landlocked. It had actually a coast along the Pacific Ocean. However, throughout the war of the Pacific that was fought in between 1879 and also 1883, Bolivia shed its shore to Chile. On march 23 of every year, Bolivians storage "The work of the Sea" to commemorate their shed coastline and also their sea access. The is rather intriguing the Bolivia, even after becoming landlocked, still has a navy. It uses Lake Titicaca because that its marine training.

A contract of Peace and also Friendship to be signed between Chile and also Bolivia after ~ Bolivia retained insisting the it it is in given access to the sea. Chile thereafter built a railway the would enable the Bolivians to access the sea with ease.

Paraguay, 397,300 Km2

Map that Paraguay.  The Republic the Paraguay is located in main South America. Because of that is centrality in south America, it is often referred to as the "Heart of southern America." It has actually a complete area of 397,300 km2. Paraguay is the the smallest landlocked country in the Americas. That is bordered to the south and to the southwest by Argentina, come the east and also to the northeast by Brazil, and also to the northwest by Bolivia.

Just like Bolivia, Paraguay, regardless of being landlocked, still has actually a navy due to the fact that it can accessibility the Atlantic ocean through the Paraguay–Paraná Rivers.

How numerous Countries In southern America space Landlocked?

See more: What Is The Hybridization Of The Nitrogen Atoms In N2? Orbital Hybridisation

CountryLand Area (km2)PopulationSurrounding Countries
Bolivia1,083,30011,673,021Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay, Peru
Paraguay397,3007,132,538Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil